Canada's warmest welcome ®* September 28 2021

Council Highlights for August 17, 2020

osoyoos, canada's warmest welcome

Share page

Text size reduce text size increase text size Share page Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Council Highlights for August 17, 2020

Click on button to watch the video of the Annual General and Regular Open meetings.
Annual General Meeting Regular Open Meeting

  • Mayor McKortoff read her message from the 2019 Annual Report.
  • The Chief Administrative Officer and Department Directors presented their sections of the 2019 Annual Report.
  • Mayor McKortoff presented highlights from Council’s 2019 objectives and measures, including:
    • Welcoming new CAO Allan Chabot, new Director of Operational Services Jared Brounstein, new Fire Chief Dave McMahon, and new Water Councillor Bob Appleby.
    • The Official Community Plan review began.
    • The Town received a grant for Domestic Water Twinning – System #9.
    • The Town was recognized as an Age-Friendly Community
    • Waste Water Pump Station construction began.
  • Council reported on their 2019 activities.
  • Resident David Smith expressed his concerns about traffic speed on 89th Street and requested that signage be looked at in its entirety on 89th Street. Mr. Smith also expressed his concern about the old Main Lift station being an eyesore and the need for a new public washroom at Legion Beach.

Water Matters

  • Water Councillor Appleby reported that users are happier with the clean water due to the Water Twinning Project in System 9. He also noted that there have been discussions on the installation of fire hydrants for years and wondered if there is an opportunity with the Twinning Project to have them installed. Staff was directed by Council to bring a report on fire hydrants in System 9 to a future open meeting of Council.


  • Council supported the Parks/Green Spaces Strategic Planning Process. Staff will complete a project plan and proposed budget with potential funding sources to complete the project, which will be presented to Council at a later date.
  • Council supported an application to the Province for funding in the amount of $500,000.00 under the Community, Culture and Recreation infrastructure stream of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Plan in order to construct a multi-use trail from Acacia Court to 32nd Avenue and sẁiẁs Provincial Park (Haynes Point).


  • Councillor King attended a Zoom meeting for the Accessibility and Age-Friendly Committee.
  • Councillor Bennett attended a webinar with Minister George Hyman and the BC Municipal Climate Action Leadership Council to discuss current and future opportunities to deal with current climate goals provincially as well as at the Municipal level.
  • Councillor Bennett attended the grand opening of the two new EV Fast Charging stations at the OIB Petro Canada as a guest of Chief Clarence Louie and Fortis.
  • Councillor Bennett attended the Primary Care Network Advisory board meeting online.
  • Mayor McKortoff thanked everyone in the community for doing their part to keep the community safe and encouraged everyone to wear masks when the recommended social distancing is not possible. The Mayor asked everyone to be sensible and thoughtful and to look after themselves and those around them.

Copies of reports are available within the Council Agenda packages located on the Town’s website

Event date: 
Monday, 17 August, 2020
News item
While every reasonable effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this data, we are not responsible for any errors or omissions contained on these pages. Please verify any information in question with the Town of Osoyoos.   Town of Osoyoos
Box 3010, 8707 Main Street
Osoyoos, BC V0H 1V0
(TF) 1.888.495.6515
(T) 250.495.6515
(F) 250.495.2400


Mission Statement
To provide quality community services and facilities, which meet the needs of the current
and future residents of Osoyoos, in a socially, economically and environmentally sustainable manner.

Copyright © 2013 Town of Osoyoos All Rights Reserved. Powered by CivicWeb CMS - Copyright © 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.